New Year, New Tools

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a fantastic holiday season and are looking forward to getting into the swing of a bright and shiny new year.

Since I grew out of the dolly and makeup phase of my childhood, my new years have always been brought in while enjoying new tools. My mom is my number one arts and crafts enabler and made our Christmases about giving the proper tools to further interests and skill levels in the fields I was obsessed with at the time.  The past ten or twelve years have brought me some magnificent tools to further my crafty endeavors and this year/Christmas is no different. Last year I learned how to spin and have been coveting some basic tools to make the whole process of spinning much easier, including a second spindle, an adjustable niddy-noddy, and a skein winder.

New spindle with its current BFL project

New spindle with its current BFL project

Deconstructed adjustable niddy noddy in 1,1.5, and 2 yard lengths

Deconstructed adjustable niddy noddy in 1,1.5, and 2 yard lengths

Adjustable skein winder

Adjustable skein winder

These tools came from an Etsy seller called theknitstore. Their items are amazingly priced and cover all your basic spinning and weaving tool needs.

I’ve already been able to make good use of my new tools and was able to spin up one of two bundles of a purple toned BFL bundle and ply some purple-blue silk.

Purple toned BFL- 210 yards of fingering to Sport weight yarn

Purple toned BFL- 210 yards of fingering to Sport weight yarn

Blue-purple silk - 85 yards-Sport weight

Blue-purple silk – 85 yards-Sport weight

I also snagged a few really great books for Christmas and can’t wait to do some proper reviews for them here. They are: Knit to Flatter by Amy Herzog, The Complete Guide to Spinning Yarn: Techniques, Projects, and Recipes by Brenda Gibson and Eling Chang, and Sticky Readers: How To Attract a Loyal Blog Audience By Writing More Better by Margaret Andrews.

I want to say thank you to all my readers for following along this last year and that I hope to keep you entertained throughout 2014. I wish you all a fruitful and creative new year!

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Tools

Leave a Reply

