Continental vs. English

For eight years I have been a thrower. An English knitter, proud of my frequent movement and wrist soreness. Lately though the knitting battle wounds have been appearing far too often for my liking. I love to knit for hours on end while watching marathons of crappy TV but I can’t when my wrists are so sore that I can barely change the channel. So, since I have decided to dedicate my summer free time to the acquisition of new skills and crafts, I learned how to Continental knit and purl today as well as how to do the long tail cast-on. I feel accomplished and comfortable. My wrists are not aching and I am beginning to pick up some speed. I did have to attempt this technique about eight times before I got the right feel so I really haven’t made much quality progress. Here is my most even sample. I will continue with it this evening.

DSCN0073

 

Here are the two most helpful videos that I found on my quest to learn something new in case you are interested in trying it out.

Knit: 

Purl: 

Which style of knitting do you prefer?

16 thoughts on “Continental vs. English

  1. i usually keep the yarn on my right hand but have been using it on my left hand ‘accidentally’ when working on some colourwork, to avoid mixing threads up

  2. I’m a thrower, but a very efficient thrower. It’s good to know both ways, though. I was working on a garter stitch project recently (blanket squares to decorate a bridge!), so I practiced contintental. I can do it, but it’s still not my favorite. I first learned to knit continental so I could carry a color in each hand for colorwork. Then Anna Zilboorg showed me how to carry two colors in my right (throwing) hand, and that’s how I’ve done colorwork ever since.

  3. I knit continental and I always have. I think it comes from crochet, which I learned to do first, but I am not sure. I love knitting that way too. I personally hold the left index finger high in the air like I’m making a point with it. It is so much faster, though be very careful, very careful with your gauge. Where most people get 5 stitches to the inch on maybe a US 7, I get that with a 2 or 3. I am the world’s loosest knitter, which I always say will make me very popular during college.

  4. I’m a continental knitter! I also think it’s because I started off crocheting, so my left hand was already used to holding my working yarn. I work my stitches much in the same way as Eunny Jang.

Leave a Reply

