Let’s Talk About Stress

April is National Stress Awareness Month. This is an incredibly fitting time for me, as I am a student and this is generally known as crunch time. Professors bring out the big assignments, the weather is questionable, and the necessity to get summer plans squared away are all too present in my thoughts.

I usually am able to function pretty well under hectic conditions, thanks to my favorite DSCN9878activities knitting and crocheting. My mind is hardwired to attach to little worries and blow them up into big ones. When things get to be too overwhelming my best approach is to take time to completely remove myself from the situation that is causing the problem. I will close the essay I am writing or the application I am filling out, put my headphones on and grab my nearest needlework project. The music blocks my anxious subconscious from dominating my thoughts and the repetitive motion of stitch making allows my mind to wander. This wandering clears any trace of the concerns I was fretting over moments ago. Many times, after completing a granny square or cable repeat I will emerge from under my giant headphones and realize that I had come up with a solution to eliminate the worry I had been fretting about.

It is easy to lose your sense of self when you are buried in work but if you take a few moments to ignore the world and reevaluate your thoughts in peace, it will all fall into place.

What do you do to calm your mind?

7 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Stress

  1. Eating and shopping works always. But I’m trying to do it with short walks in the beach and meditation. crochet and other yarn-activities worked the in past, not now… I wonder why 😉

  2. I sit in my rocking chair and k it one or two rows. It helps me to just block out the things that I’m stressing about. Sometimes, during the nicer months, I walk downtown (about three or four blocks) and grab a tea from my local cafe.

  3. Great post! Thank you…Knitting works for me and all of the things mentioned by H-knits above, as well as making the effort to go to yoga and learn more about relaxation techniques…But knitting was a huge help to me when I was studying for my doctorate, so I’d say, you can’t go wrong with crafts if you’re facing many assignments.

Leave a Reply

