Frustration, Procrastination, and Taking a Break

First of all I’d like to thank all my new followers for following and commenting. I really appreciate it and love talking to you all.

My apologies for not posting as regularly this week. I have been swamped at school lately and have not had the motivation to do one more bit of writing.

Now let’s talk about that black and pink sweater I have been posting about. Technically I finished the knitting last Saturday evening. I say technically because I have to rip out the button band. Picking up stitches is the most obnoxious skill needed in the knitting world.

DSCN9894Obviously it is not a skill that I have mastered quite yet. The right side is fine where the left side is all bunched and scrunched and junky. I couldn’t tell that it was all bunched until I cast off the button band so it was doubly frustrating. I was so excited to have finished it but no, I must redo the most dreaded part of the sweater.

DSCN9892This disappointment has squashed my will to knit for now so I traded in my needles for a hook. I started a solid colored granny square blanket. I decided to use all of my low quality acrylic bits that I can never seem to use up all the way and make them into one giant blanket. I have calculated that I will need about 180 squares to make it the size I want (double to queen size). So far I have 22 squares done. I have all colors of the rainbow in my stash so I hope to incorporate them all in this blanket. It may be a little ugly but it will be durable and cozy.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Frustration, Procrastination, and Taking a Break

  1. I feel your pain! Picking up stitches, I *dread*… It looks so good, though. It’ll be worth it 🙂

  2. Yup, the picking up of bands is one of the worst part of sweaters, and I hate it too. I’ve learned through bitter experience to always pick up more stitches than the pattern says. Perhaps it’s just something about my knitting tension!. Your sweater looks fabulous.

Leave a Reply

