Lately I Have Been Thinking About Socks

Of course now that winter is presumably on it’s way out, I have begun to think about socks.  Knitting a pair of socks seems like such a traditional thing to do. When people picture someone knitting it is usually an image of a sweet grandmother clicking away on a pair of socks. This item of knit wear is the last item on my list to knit. I’ve done sweaters, hats, mittens, scarves, cowls, and even blankets but I have never conquered socks. I’ve toyed with the idea but the heel seems so daunting, though it can’t be much more challenging then adding sleeves to a bottom up raglan sweater.

Eventually, I will make a pair of traditional wool socks. Until then here are a few of my favorite patterns. Maybe next winter I will crank some toasty toe warmers out.

Tyrolean Stockings by Ann Budd

www.interweaveknits.com-buddfront300_medium

Drops–Free Pattern

47-1

Warm and Cozy Socks by Linden Down (Free Pattern)

dsc_0088_medium2

5 thoughts on “Lately I Have Been Thinking About Socks

  1. Socks are a lot easier than they seem. And the heel is the most fun part, once you get the hang of it =]

    Cardigan and shawl is still on my list of things I need to do. I have a cardigan started but I haven’t made much progress. I did make the boneyard shawl last year but I want to try something lace-like.

  2. That’s good to hear and makes me want to try them out more!
    Once you get into the meat of the cardigan pattern it is a challenge to put down!

  3. I’m not much of a sock knitter (fine yarn and I have to do it twice?!) but I do love wearing hand knit socks. My faves to knit are in dk weight yarn (faster!), or even worsted. I even bought a pair of Skechers in a bigger size to accommodate my thick socks! Are you going to start with a toe-up or cuff-down? Decisions, decisions!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I just added you to my blog reader. (What am I going to do without Google Reader? :sob:)

    • I’m thinking a thick worsted weight slipper sock cuff down might be a good starter type! That way it will be quick and I will have a nice cuff completed by the time I reach the foot shaping bits so I will be less tempted to give up.
      Thanks for adding me in! I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

